ZAMBOANGA Tenpin Bowling Association (Zatenba) pintoppler Ruben Legorio climbed his way from eighth spot in the eliminations to clinch the 14th Datba Kadayawan NBT Open title at SM Lanang Premier Bowling Center recently.

Legorio, with a handicap of 37, upset twice-to-beat No. 1 Arthur John Galendez (28) of Davao Tenpin Bowlers Association (Datba), 206-164, 205-189, to pocket the P60,000 champion's prize.

The Chavacano ace hit 229 pinfalls in the second shootout, besting No. 4 Rico Licarte (228) of Bowling Association of Las PiƱas, No. 3 Dodong Dante (207) of Seaside Tenpin Bowling Association, Inc. and No. 2 Levi Descallar (227) of Datba to arrange a titular showdown with Galendez.

In the first shootout, No. 8 Legorio (228) also toppled No. 5 Nierra (202) of Datba, No. 7 Kert Palces (169) of Datba and No. 6 Wilma Catalan (160) of Alabang Tenpin Bowling Association (Atba).

Galendez bagged P30,000 while the rest of the runners-up also received cash prizes during the awarding rites graced by Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) Commissioner Charles Raymond A. Maxey.

Dante, however, claimed P40,000 for topping the seniors masters event over Legorio who settled for the runner-up prize of P20,000 and Descallar who copped the P10,000 third placer prize.

The seniors singles top three placers were Licarte, Descallar and Legorio while Abraham Saddoy prevailed over Galendez and Dodong Dionio in singles event.

Datba-Korpo of Galendez, Bam Tongo and Gab Velasco ruled the team competition over two other Datba teams.

Licarte, meanwhile, lorded over Dante and Datba's Joshua Disuacido to annex the all events crown.

Winners also received medals and trophies.



Date: August 18, 2019 | By: Marianne Abalayan | Newspaper: Sun Star | Source: https://www.sunstar.com.ph/article/1819170