Tennis aces fall; other vets shine

Tennis aces fall; other vets shine

By: Inquirer Sports

Cyclist Rustom Lim, diver Rexel Ryan Fabriga and hammer thrower Arniel Ferrera dominated their events in the POC-PSC Philippine National Games yesterday but tennis stars Johnny Arcilla and Clarice Patrimonio bowed out to their unheralded rivals at Rizal Memorial Tennis Center.

Lim, a 19-year-old sprint specialist from Guimba, Nueva Ecija, seized the gold medal from Team LBC Pilipinas teammates Ronald Oranza and Denver Casayuran after clocking three hours, 59 minutes and 48 seconds at the end of the 151.6-kilometer race in San Jose, Tarlac.

Oranza, who placed third overall in the 16-stage Ronda Pilipinas early this year, came home 42 seconds back followed by Casayuran (0:44 behind).

Fabriga, a double gold medalist in the 2003 Southeast Asian Games in Vietnam, compiled 316.4 points to rule the men’s 1-meter springboard over fellow national divers Zardo Domenios (307.25) and Niño Carog (287.80).

On the distaff side of the same event, Cesiel Domenios pocketed the gold with 210.25 points while Rebecca Pahoyo (198.35) and Rizza Jane Domenios (164.15) also stood on the podium.

Ferrera, a multiple SEA Games gold medalist, prevailed in his pet event with a 60.20-meter heave. Karl Francisco from UP Diliman was a far second with 46.55m and Jerro Perater of Philippine Air Force placed third (40.12).

Arcilla, the country’s top local netter, was eliminated in the semifinals by Filipino-Italian Mark Reyes, 6-3, 6-2, while Patrimonio was bundled out by Edlyn Balanga, 6-4, 7-6 (4).

Balanga, whose parents now live in Spain, advanced to the gold medal match against top pick Marian Jade Capadocia, who stopped age-group stalwart Roxanne Resma, 7-6 (7-4), 6-0.

Reyes, a PCA Open semifinalist four years ago, will next face PH Cupper Patrick John Tierro, who downed Ruel Rubellar, 6-0, 3-6, (10-4).
Second seed Elbert Anasta cruised trouble-free to the semifinals with a 6-4, 6-4 victory over Arce Manio. He advanced against Rolando Ruel, who ousted Reynaldo Ruel Mariano, 6-2, 7-6 (4).

Other winners in athletics were javelin thrower Danilo Fresnido, long jumper Henry Dagmil, Lambert Padua (men’s 10,000m walk) and juniors Chairy Palermo (high jump), Daveson Kyle Narido (2000m steeplechase); Charies Mae Violanta (shot put), Jomar Udtohan (boys’ 100m dash), Anfernee Lopena (junior’s 100m dash), Jenyrose Rosales (junior women’s 100m), Mat Crespo (hammer throw), Jethro Esposo (10,000m walk), Mary Anthony Diesto (girls’ 100m) and Aldee Faith Denuyo (long jump).