17 top athletes to enter Hall of Fame as PSC celebrates 25th year
By: Philippine News Agency (Manila Bulletin posted on January 19, 2016)

HOF Logo newThe Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) will recognize the country’s former top athletes during its silver anniversary on January 25 at the Century Park-Sheraton Hotel in Manila.

During the celebration, PSC Chairman Ricardo Garcia said that awards will be given to 17 former top athletes who will be included in the 2nd batch of athletes elevated to the Philippine Sports Hall of Fame.

Garcia made the announcement Tuesday, January 19, during the PSA sports forum at Shakey’s restaurant in Malate, Manila.

Under Republic Act 8757, the Philippine Sports Hall of Fame was established to honor and recognize Filipino athletes, coaches and trainers who exemplified distinguished accomplishments in their respective sports.

After a serious deliberation of the selection committee headed by Garcia, a total of 17 were unanimously selected from the 27 nominees of athletes/coaches/trainers who achieved notable accomplishments from 1924 to 1974.

The nominees were endorsed by national sports associations (NSAs), government entities, the media and distinguished individuals in Philippine sports.

The selected awardees for the 2nd batch of Philippine Sports Hall of Fame are:

1. Haydee Coloso-Espino – Swimming

2. Edgardo Ocampo – Basketball

3. Mariano Tolentino – Basketball

4. Eugene Torre – Chess

5. Raymundo Deyro – Tennis

6. Mona Sulaiman – Athletics

7. Jose Juan – Tennis

8. Inocensia Solis – Athletics

9. Jacinto Cayco – Swimming

10. Felicisimo Ampon – Tennis

11. Martin Gison – Shooting

12. Adolfo Feliciano – Shooting

13. Salvador Del Rosario – Weightlifting

14. Isaac Gomez – Athletics

15. Kurt Bachman – Basketball

16. Mohammad Mala – Swimming

17. Gerardo Rosario – Swimming

The awardees will receive a plaque and Php 100,000.

See photos of the Enshrinement Ceremony in the PSC official Facebook Page